2009 group photo

Alumni

Save the Date, 5th Anniversary of LEAD Program, November 12,2010

In addition to the annual LEAD program we have held one alumni event in each of the last two years to keep the Fellows connected and to provide them additional information and tools. Feedback has been excellent and we hope to continue the alumni portion of LEAD.

 

School of Medicine Fellows
2006
Deborah L. Baruch-Bienen
Assistant Professor, Associate VA Chief of Medicine
Chair-Elect Faculty Senate
Department of Medicine/Educational Programs
School of Medicine
baruchbienen@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-6675

LEAD Photo Gallery LEAD Photo Gallery
Jan M. Bruder
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine/Endocrinology
School of Medicine
bruder@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-4902

Nan Clare
Professor/Senior Associate Dean/Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Office of the Dean, Medical School
School of Medicine
clare@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-4428

Thelma C. Hurd
Associate Professor
Department of Surgery/Surgical Oncology
School of Medicine
hurdt@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-6862

Brad H. Pollock
Professor
Center for Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Medicine
bpollock@uthscsa.edu
(210)562-9020

Elly Xenakis
Associate Professor/J & R Blumberg Professorship
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
School of Medicine
xenakis@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5009

2007
Amelie Ramirez
Assistant Professor
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
School of Medicine
ramiresag@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0255

Leonel Vela
Regional Dean
RAHC
School of Medicine
velal@uthscsa.edu
(956)365-9600

Merry Lindsey
Assistant Professor
Medicine-Cardiology
School of Medicine
lindseym@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-4673

Carlos Rosende
Assoc. Professor / Clinical/Interim Chair
Ophthalmology
School of Medicine
rosende@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-7609

Helen Hazuda
Professor
Medicine-Epidemiology
School of Medicine
hazuda@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-6678

2008
Brigitte Bailey
Associate Professor/Clinical
Psychiatry
baileyb@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-5475

Ruth Berggren
Associate Professor
Medicine Infectious Disease
berggrenr@uthscsa.edu
(2100 567- 6705 or -4823

Daniel Carlisle
Assistant Professor and
Deputy Chair
Orthopaedics
carlisled@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-5125

Jannine Cody
Associate Professor/Research
Pediatrics
cody@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-9220

Thomas White
Assistant to the Dean
Dean Medical School
whitet@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-0205

David Henzi
Director of Office of Academic Enhancement
Dean Medical School
Henzi@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-0638

2009
Dr. Steven Chalfin, Professor and Deputy Chair
Department of Comprehensive Opthalmology
MSC 6230
Chalfin@uthscsa.edu
210-567-8411

Dr. Richard Crownover, Associate Professor/Clinical
Residency Program Director
Department of Radiation Oncology
MSC 7889
Crownover@uthscsa.edu
210-450-1136

Dr. Thomas Matthews, Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
MSC 7790
matthewst@uthscsa.edu
210-567-0302

Dr. Rebecca Loredo, Associate Professor
Section Chief/Musculoskeletal
Division of Clinical Radiology
MSC 7800
Loredo@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3448

Dr. Liliana Oakes, Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine
610L
oakes@uthscsa.edu
210-358-3200

2010
Margaret Finley, MD, Associate Professor
Medical Director, Air Force Village Hospice
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Finleym@uthscsa.edu
358-3200

Ray Hoese, BA
Director, School of Medicine
Marketing/Communications
Hoese@uthscsa.edu
567-1747

Carlayne Jackson, MD, Professor
Vice President/Chief Medical Officer, UT Medicine
Department of Neurology
Jacksonce@uthscsa.edu
450-0512

Jane O’Rorke, MD, Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
Ororke@uthscsa.edu
358-7567

Niko Papanikolaou, Ph.D
Chief, Medical Physics
Department of Radiation Oncology
Papanikolaou@uthscsa.edu
450-5664

Dr. Sandra Sanchez-Reilly, Associate Professor/Clinical
Division of Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Medicine
MSC 7875
Sanchezreill@uthscsa.edu
Sandra.sanchez-reilly@uthscsa.edu
210-617-5237

Dr. Htay Thwe, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Department of Internal Medicine Clinic (Diagnostic Pavilion)
MSC 7879
htay@uthscsa.edu
210-592-0150

 

School of Nursing Fellows
2006
Kay C. Avant
Professor and Chair
Department of Family Nursing
School of Nursing
Avantk@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5881

Margaret H. Brackley
Professor
Department of Family Nursing
School of Nursing
Brackley@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3809

Linda K. Fortmeier-Saucier
Instructor
Department of Acute Nursing
School of Nursing
fortmeiers@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0838

Adrianne D. Linton
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Chronic Nursing
School of Nursing
linton@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5104

2007
Carol Reineck
Associate Professor
Acute Nursing
School of Nursing
reineck@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5883

Kelly Dunn
Associate Professor
Family Nursing
School of Nursing
dunnm@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5102

2008
Linda Porter-Wenzlaff
Assistant Professor/Clinical
Chronic Nursing
porterl@uthscsa.edu
(2100 567-5833

Suzanne Yarbrough
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Dean Nursing School
yarbroughs@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-5899

2009
Dr. Sara Gill, Associate Professor
Department of Family Nursing Care
NSG Room 2.342
gills@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3014

Dr. Mary Heye, Associate Professor
Department of Acute Nursing Care
NSG 2.142
heye@uthscsa.edu
210-567-75831

2010
Janis Rice, MSN, RN, CS
Associate Clinical Professor, Acute Nursing
Ricej@uthscsa.edu
567-5612

Dr. Nancy McGowan, Ph.D, RN
Assistant Professor, Chronic Nursing
McGowanN@uthscsa.edu
567-5310

 

School of Health Professions Fellows
2006
Patricia A. Brewer
Deputy Chair and Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
School of Allied Health Sciences
brewerp@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-8761

Douglas L. Murphy
Associate Dean
Office of the Dean, School of Allied Health Sciences
murphyd@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-8800

David L. Vines
Assistant Professor
Department of Respiratory Care
School of Allied Health Sciences
vines@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-8856

2007
Lance Villers
Assistant Professor and Chair
Emergency Health Sciences
Allied Health
villers@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-8709

Robert Wilkins
Professor and Chair
Respiratory Care
Allied Health
wilkinsr@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-8854

2008
Carmen Roman-Shriver
Associate Professor
Dean Allied Health School
romanshriver@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-7461

Blane Trautwein
Assistant Professor/Clinical and Program Director
Occupational Therapy
trautwein@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-8912

2009
Taline Infante, Associate Professor and Program Director
Department of Dental Hygiene
MSC 6244
Dadian@uthcsa.edu
210-567-8842

DeDe Gardner, Associate Professor and Clinical Director
Department of Respiratory Care
MSC 6248
gardnerd@uthscsa.edu
210-567-8859

2010
Ms. Kim Clendenen
Assistant to the Dean
Clendenen@uthscsa.edu
567-8800

 

Dental School Fellows
2006
Kevin Donly
Professor and Chair Department of Pediatric Dentistry
Dental School
donly@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3467

Gary F. Guest
Assistant Dean for Pre-Doctoral Clinics Dental Clinic
Dental School
guest@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3263

Adriana Segura Donly
Professor Department of General Dentistry
Dental School
seguraa@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3539

2007
Lily Garcia
Chair Prosthodontics
Dental School
garciatl@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-6420

David Cappelli
Associate Professor Community Dentistry
Dental School
Cappelli@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3186

Bjorn Steffensen
Professor Periodontics
Dental School
steffensenb@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3564

2008
Lina M. Cardenas Dentchev
Assistant Professor
Pediatric Dentistry
Cardenasl2@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3519

Lisa Lang
Associate Professor
Prosthodontics
langl@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-6450

Lydia Leos
Assistant Dean for
Administration Dental School
Dean Dental School
leosl@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3166

Thomas Oates Jr.
Associate professor
Periodontics
oates@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3590

2009
Dr. Bennett Amaechi, Associate Professor
Department of Community Dentistry
MSC 7917
amaechi@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3200

Dr. Juanita Lozano-Pineda, Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Community Dentistry
MSC 7917
pinedaj@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3200

Dr. Brigit Junfin Glass, Associate Dean
for Academic Affairs
Office of the Dental Dean
MSC 7906
glass@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3175

Dr. Issa Sasa, Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Pediatric Dentistry
MSC 7888
sasa@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3542

Dr. Richard Zimmerman, Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of General Dentistry
MSC 7914
zimmermannr@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3431

2010
Greg Spackman, MBA, DDS
Associate Professor
Director Predoctoral Program, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Spackman@uthscsa.edu
567-3470

Tim Henson, DMD
Associate Professor
Director Pediatric Dentistry Residency Program
Hensontb@uthscsa.edu
567-3538

Ronald Verrett, DDS, MS
Associate Professor
Department of Prosthodontics
Verrett@uthscsa.edu
567-6460

Ms. Sara Rapach
Administrator
Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Rapach@uthscsa.edu
567-3482

 

Graduate School Fellows
2006
Bruce J. Nicholson
Chair Department of Biochemistry
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
nicholsonb@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3772

Christi Walter
Professor and Interim Chair
Department of Cellular & Structural Biology
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
walter@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-3832

2007
Alan Frazer
Professor and Chair
Pharmacology
Graduate School
frazer@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-4205
Ellen Kraig
Professor
Cellular and Structural Biology
Graduate School
Kraig@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3818

Josefine Heim-Hall
Associate Professor/Clinical
Pathology
Graduate School
heim@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-4085

2008
Nicquet M. Blake
Assistant Dean for Graduate
Student Recruitment
Dean Graduate School
blaken@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3709

Brian Wickes
Associate Professor
Microbiology
wickes@uthscsa.edu
(2100 567-3938

2009
Dr. James Lechleiter, Professor
Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
MSC 7762
Lechleiter@uthscsa.edu
210-567-6254

2010
Jaishree Jagirdar, B.S., MD, Professor
Director of Anatomic Pathology Department of Pathology
Jagirdar@uthscsa.edu
567-4034

Sophia Pina, Ph.D, Assistant Dean
Pina@uthscsa.edu
567-3984

 

Jerry York VP/CIO Fellows
2006
Brian D. Cartee
Director of Administrative Computer Systems
Integrated Management Information System
Office of the Vice President & CIO
cartee@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-1176

2007
Ken Andrews
Director of Distributed Learning
Academic Information Services
VP/CIO
andrewsk@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-2700

2008
Gregory Mulligan
Director of Information
Management Client Services
IMCSS
mulligan@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-2578

2009
David Hotchkiss, Director
Academic Technology Services
MSC 7895
Hotchkiss@uthscsa.edu
210-567-2290

 

Brian Herman VP Research Fellows
2006
James Elliott
Associate Director
Laboratory Animal Resources
Vice President for Research
elliottjj@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-6153

2007
Sara Boettcher
Director Research Systems &
Technology
VP for Research
boettcher@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0033

2009
Isabelle Kreider, Director
Institutional Animal Care Program
IACP Office, Rm 255A
kreider@uthscsa.edu
210-567-3718

2010
Jennifer Watson. M.S.
Radiation Safety Officer
Watsonj@uthscsa.edu
567-2960

 

Steve Lynch EVP Business Affairs Fellows
2006
Ginny L. Gomez-Leon  
Director of Budget & Planning
Budget & Planning Office
Office of the Executive Vice President for Business Affairs & CFO
leongl@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-7068

Gerard (Jerry) Long
Director of Accounting
Accounting Office
Office of the Executive Vice President for Business Affairs & CFO
longg@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-6081

2007
Murray Howard
Director of Business Systems & Tech.
Budget & Planning Office
Business Affairs
howard@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-1253

Geoff Scarpelli
Senior Budget Analyst
Budget & Planning
Business Affairs
scarpelli@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-7029

2008
Ola Hudgins
Director of Financial Systems and Technology
Financial Systems & Technology
hudgins@uthscsa.edu
(210) 562-6287

Ralph Kaster
Assistant Director of Accounting
Accounting Office
kaster@uthscsa.edu
(210) 562-6249

2009
Jim Dreyer, Director
Department of Payroll Services
MCP 2.280
dreyer@uthscsa.edu
210-562-6315

Mercedes Garcia, Bursar
Bursar’s Office
MSC 7716
garciam@uthscsa.edu
210-567-2555

2010
Christelle Farias, BBA, CPPO
Assistant Director of Purchasing Department
Farias@uthscsa.edu
562-6202

Kellye Robertson, BBA, CPA
Assistant Director of Accounting
Robertsonks@uthscsa.edu
562-6251

 

Dr, Chiang VP Academic Administration Fellows
2006
Robert Kaminski
Assistant Vice President for Academic Administration
Office of the Vice President for Academic Administration
kaminskir@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-5072

2008
Doris Lee
Assistant Vice President for Student Services
Student Services
Leed6@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-2625

2009
Dr. Adela Gonzalez, Executive Director
Center for South Texas Programs
4201 Medical Drive, Suite 370
San Antonio, TX 78229
Gonzaleza10@uthscsa.edu
210-567-7819

2010
Rajia Tobia, BA, A.M.L.S.
Executive Director for the Libraries
Tobia@uthscsa.edu
567-2413

 

James Kazen EVP Administration Fellows
2006
Darrell G. Maatsch
Assistant Vice President for Campus Operations & Facilities
Facilities Management
Office of the Executive Vice President for Administration
Maatsch@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-2880

2007
Chris Miller
Assoc. Director of Facilities Mgmt.
Facilities Management
VP Administration
millerc@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-2880

2008
Raymond Martin
Associate Director of Facilities Management
Facilities Management
Martinr2@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-2880

2009
Jimmie Hearn, Project Manager for New Construction
Facilities Management
FM1
hearnj@uthscsa.edu
210-567-8924

2010
Jimmie Hearn, Project Manager for New Construction
Facilities Management
FM1
hearnj@uthscsa.edu
210-567-8924

 

Debbie Morrill VP Development Fellows
2006
Deborah H. Morrill
Associate Vice President for Development
Office of the Vice President for External Affairs
morrilld@uthscsae.edu
(210)567-6395

2007
Sonia Vasquez
Director of Development
Graduate School
Vasquezg@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0028

Carol Swartz
Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
VP Development
swartzc@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-2028

2008
Kimberly Warshauer
Director for Development
VP for Development
warchauer@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-0242

2009
Susana Narvaez-Godinez, Director
Endowment Compliance
Office of Development
AAB
godinez@uthscsa.edu
210-567-0618

2010
Kris Doyle
Director of Strategic Communications in the Development Department
Doyle@uthscsa.edu
567-2589

 

President’s Office Fellows
2007
Nancy Arispe
Executive Director of Communications
External Affairs
Presidents Office
ARISPEN@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0729

 

VP for Governmental Relations Fellows
2007
Jaymie Balboa
Assistant to the Vice President
Governmental Relations
balboa@uthscsa.edu
(210)567-0372

 

Faculty Senate Fellows
2007
Keith Krolick
Professor
Microbiology
Krolick@uthscsa.edu
(210) 567-3968

2010
Rajeshwar Rao Tekmal, Ph.D
Professor and Director of the Division of Reproductive Research
in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Tekmal@uthscsa.edu
567-4930